Taizhou Strum

(chinadaily.com.cn) | Updated: 2018-12-06

Print Print

11-2第一批 传统戏剧 乱弹 Ⅳ-39 图为台州乱弹传统剧目《昭君出塞》剧照 拍摄者:王勤丰.jpg

Zhao Jun Chu Sai, a classis Taizhou Strum, tells the story of Wang Zhaojun, one of the four renowned beauties of China, during the Han Dynasty (206 BC-220). [Photo by Wang Qinfeng]

Taizhou Strum, originally called Huangyan Opera, is one of the few Chinese operas with multiple tunes. Dating back to the Ming Dynasty (1368-1644) and the early Qing Dynasty (1644-1911), it prevailed in southeast Zhejiang province, centering on Taizhou and covering cities such as Wenzhou, Ningbo, Shaoxing, Jinhua and Lishui. The key feature of Taizhou Strum is that it integrates operas characterized by singing and acting with those characterized by martial arts. Having a list of more than 300 plays, Taizhou Strum is praised by experts as "an orchid with strong local characteristics in the world of Chinese operas". In May 2006, Taizhou Strum was included in China's first representative list of intangible cultural heritage.

1 2 3 >